Home > M0CVO, M0CVO Amateur Radio, Making Waves, Radio and electronics > Making Waves, 23cm and infinity

Making Waves, 23cm and infinity

As I have stated previously I purchased a 1296MHz transverter from SG-Lab in Bulgaria.  Anyway, upon applying power to it and testing the transmit (with an IF of 145MHz at 2.5W from my FT-817) I noted that it was not working as described.  Upon opening up the top of the case I noted that one of the components was raised and obviously burnt.  I contacted Hristiyan, LZ5HP, at SG-Lab and sent photos of the faulty component in situ.  He immediately identified it as a short in the choke having caused the problem and I returned the unit to him.  Two weeks later it was back with me in full working order with a replaced choke.  This time when I applied power and some IF it worked as it should.

I also mentioned that I would look at constructing a DL6WU Yagi but, unfortunately, work has got in the way and I just haven’t had the time.  I looked online for suppliers and, after much deliberation, decided to purchase one from Dual Antennas in Serbia (www.antennas-amplifiers.com).  This was down to both price and quality.  Although there are manufacturers both in England and in Germany, Dual seemed to offer the best deal.  For a 13 element Yagi it cost me 59€ plus shipping.  there was the other issue that when it arrived in the UK it was held by customs for a week whilst they added import charges and VAT but that only came to £19.15.

23cm-Yagi--Antenna-Rear-Mount-PA1296-13-R-420x200The 23cm Yagi from Dual.

So now I am fully operational on all bands from 80m – 23cm (except 4m currently).  I have not yet had a QSO on 23cm although I have put out a few CQ calls, so maybe next Thursday evening during the UKAC contest.

23cm Yagi

The 23cm Yagi up at CVO Towers

M0CVO QRP Setup

The transverter visible in operating position below the X1M HF QRP set with the FT-817 providing the IF to the left.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment